CDHBU tough contenders

June 02, 2016

CDHBU coach Damo Payne goes for the mark.

CDHBU put on their best performance of the season against Billabong Crows.

CDHBU has moved to third spot on the ladder after its best performance of the season with a 53 point victory over the Billabong Crows at Coreen.

With the 2005 reserve side and 2006 and 2007 seniors premiership sides watching on and a huge crowd to boot, the Power made the perfect start with coach Damian Payne slotting a goal home inside two minutes.
The Crows hit back with a goal to take the lead by a point but that was the only time the Power was threatened for the match.
 Kade Rowe and Matt Howard were on fire, kicking the next three goals to go to quarter time leading 4.4 to 1.1.
Josh Lewis, Damian Wilson and Jeremy Stevenson were getting right on top in the second quarter as the Power kicked the first three goals to take the lead out to 39 points.
Coach Payne was looking dangerous up forward as he kicked four goals for the half and the Power took a 33 point lead into half time 8.6 to 3.3.
Tim Cooper and Sam Haigh led a tight defence that held the Crows to only 2 points for the third quarter and with the Power kicking 2 goals 4 for the quarter they extended the lead to 47 points at the last change, 10.10 to 3.5.
The scoring increased in the last quarter with the Power kicking 4 goals to the Crows 3.
No doubt the highlight of the quarter was Nathan Rhodes’ goal in which he had three touches in the passage of play and finished it off with a superb check side dribbling kick.
The Power won every quarter as they came home 14.11.95 to 6.7.43 winners.
Awards: Sam’s Mug – Kade Rowe, Corowa Hotel – Damian Wilson, Newmarket Hotel – Josh Lewis, Club 6 pack – Jeremy Stevenson, Club Meal – Alex Wallis, Ricky D’s Pizza – Matthew Howard, Club Awards – Sam Haigh.

Another good start in the first quarter for the Power reserves saw them lead the Crows 4.4 28 to 1 point at quarter time with goals to Chris Pringle, Brad Lewis Tom Renshaw, and Andrew Ollington after 5 weeks out with injury.
The second quarter saw the margin blow out to 51points after a 5 goal quarter with strong performances from Sean Hanrahan, Jordan Wilson and Tom Renshaw kicking 2 goals.
The Crows showed some fight the second half with 3 goals to the Power’s 6, but with Jakob Hanrahan and Ryan Rhodes again in fine form around the ground, and a best on ground performance from Captain Tom Renshaw, the Power run out winners by 78 points - 15.10.100 to 3.4.22.
Awards: Newmarket Hotel Mug – Damien Talbot, Corowa Hotel – Andrew Ollington, Hotel Australia – Sean Hanrahan, Club Awards – Ryan Rhodes, Ryan Mills, Chris Pringle and Jordan Wilson.

Under 17s
A quick start to the game saw the Power grab an early lead with a 4 goal first quarter, with 3 goals to Tom Hynes.
In the second quarter the goals continued to flow with another 7 goals, with great drive from Jim Hanrahan, Cam Wilson along with Jamie Watlon and the boys lead at half time of 80 points.
With players swapped to the Crows, the third quarter was a more even game with the Crows evening up.
Tom Hynes added another 2 goals, ending up with 7 goals for the game, and the Power’s Will Johnson and Josh Tidd both had another strong performances in the 14.7.91 to 0.1.1 victory.
Awards: Kinross Hotel Meal and Guy Street Store – Jamie Walton, Club Meal – Jimmy Hanrahan, Ricky D’s Pizza – Tom Hynes, McFarland Weed Spraying – Jesse O’Donoghue, Coaches Award – Mac McFarland.

Under 14s
A cold and wet day greeted the boys with tough conditions and they got off to slow start.
The first quarter was a close contest with the Power scoring just one major for the term.
The boys picked up a gear in the second quarter and showed their skills, moving the ball quickly and delivering a great team display of running in numbers, handballing and talking.
The boys continued with their effort in the third and fourth quarter to come away with a comfortable win.
Nathan McDonald played his best game for the season followed by solid performances by Tom Collier, Jayden Collier, Bailey Minogue and Jake Coates.  
Awards: Club Mulwala – Nathan McDonald, Coaches Award – Jake Coates, Buzz award – Blake Lewis, Corowa Sportspower – Baily Minogue, McFarland Weed Spraying – Tom Collier, Kinross Hotel Kid’s Meal – Jayden Collier, Meat on the Murray – Liam Wilson.
More in Sport
Login Sign Up

Dummy text